In case you missed it:
Catholic News Agency’s Vatican Observer, Andrea Gagliarducci, gave a brief interview to the Wall Street Journal after the Pope’s announcement of new cardinals at the end of his Sunday Angelus on January 12, 2014. Pope Francis noted that the new Cardinals come “from 12 countries from every part of the world,” and “represent the deep ecclesial relationship between the Church of Rome and the other Churches throughout the world.”

Here are the names of the new Cardinals with links to our profiles on the Cardinal-designates:


1. Archbishop Pietro Parolin, titular Archbishop of Acquapendente, Secretary of State.

2. Archbishop Lorenzo Baldisseri, titular Archbishop of Diocletiana, Secretary General of the Synod of Bishops.

3. Archbishop Gerhard Ludwig Müller, Bishop emeritus of Regensburg, Germany; Prefect of the Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith.

4. Archbishop Beniamino Stella, titular Archbishop of Midila, Prefect of the Congregation for the Clergy.

5. Archbishop Vincent Gerard Nichols of Westminster, Great Britain.

6. Archbishop Leopoldo José Brenes Solórzano of Managua, Nicaragua.

7. Archbishop Gérald Cyprien Lacroix of Quebec, Canada.


8. Archbishop Jean-Pierre Kutwa of Abidjan, the Ivory Coast.

9.  Archbishop Orani João Tempesta, O. Ciist., of São Sebastião do Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.

10. Archbishop Gualtiero Bassetti of Perugia-Città della Pieve, Italy.

11. Archbishop Mario Aurelio Poli of Buenos Aires, Argentina.

12. Archbishop Andrew Yeom Soo-jung of Seoul, Korea.

13. Archbishop Ricardo Ezzati Andrello, SDB, of Santiago de Chile, Chile.

14. Archbishop Philippe Nakellentuba Ouédraogo of Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso.

15. Archbishop Orlando B. Quevedo, OMI, of Cotabato, the Philippines.

16. Bishop Chibly Langlois of Les Cayes, Haiti.

Join us in praying for these bishops as they prepare for the consistory on February 22. May God protect and guide them.