Arizona first imposed its 24-hour abortion waiting period in 2009. Courts blocked parts of the bill that brought about the waiting period, including provisions for mandatory counseling, until 2011, when they were allowed to go into effect.
At least 26 states mandate waiting periods for women seeking abortions, most of them 24 hours. Five states- Utah, Missouri, Arkansas, Oklahoma, and South Dakota- have a 72-hour waiting period in place.
The Supreme Court held in 1992 that 24-hour waiting periods did not did not impose an undue burden on the right to abortion. Federal courts had not struck down a state's waiting period until this year, when in October a federal judge ruled unconstitutional a mandatory 48-hour waiting period for women seeking abortion in Tennessee, which had been in effect since 2015.
Arizona has passed several pro-life measures since 2009, including a provision that minors must have notarized consent from one parent to obtain an abortion. The state also in 2011 passed a ban on abortions based on the race or sex of the unborn child or based on the race of a parent.
In 2015, the Arizona legislature passed a law barring abortion coverage from all health plans offered through the state's health insurance exchange.
During April 2018, Governor Doug Ducey signed into law a bill which requires doctors to ask women seeking abortions for a specific reason why they want to end their pregnancy, such as rape or sex trafficking. The questions are intended to helo women who are being coerced into abortion; women can refuse to answer.
Other states, such as Virginia, have in recent years moved to liberalize abortion access by allowing nurse practitioners and physician's assistants to carry out the procedure.
During August 2019, an Arizona court awarded a former Planned Parenthood clinic director $3 million in damages in a wrongful termination case. The former employee, Mayra Rodriguez, claims that she witnessed physician malpractice, illegal conduct of a doctor, falsification of affidavits and patient records, and failure to report a minor who had an adult partner.