About the Stations of the Cross

The Way of the Cross, also known as the Stations of the Cross, are a way to pray and meditate on Christ's sacrifice for us. It is divided into fourteen stations from the time He was condemned to his burial. This devotion has been long encouraged by the church, and is especially useful during Lent and Good Friday.

The devotion, highly recommended by the Church, was developed during the Crusades when the knights and pilgrims began to follow the route of Christ's way to Calvary. This devotion spread throughout Europe and was promulgated by the Franciscan friars in the 14th and 15th centuries. Eventually, the Stations of the Cross became an important catechetical tool, and the popularity of this devotion inspired some of the greatest examples of medieval Christian art. Some scholars believe that medieval miracle plays, which were essentially tableaux of Christ's life, developed from the sculptured representations of the Stations of the Cross in the great Churches. These scenes from the Way of the Cross have provided inspiration for many of the world's greatest works of visual art.

During Lent or Holy Week most parishes have a service of Stations at least once.

The Fourteen Stations

            First Station - Jesus is condemned to Death
            Second Station - Jesus is made to bear His Cross
            Third Station - Jesus falls the first time under His Cross
            Fourth Station - Jesus meets His Mother
            Fifth Station - Simon the Cyrene helps Jesus carry His Cross
            Sixth Station - Veronica wipes the face of Jesus
            Seventh Station - Jesus falls the second time
            Eighth Station - Jesus speaks to the daughters of Jerusalem
            Ninth Station - Jesus falls the third time
            Tenth Station - Jesus is stripped of His garments
            Eleventh Station - Jesus is nailed to the Cross
            Twelfth Station - Jesus dies on the Cross
            Thirteenth Station - Jesus is taken down from the Cross
            Fourteenth Station - Jesus is buried in the tomb

After announcing each station, genuflect and say:

Guide: We adore you O Christ and we praise you,
All:  Because by you holy Cross you have redeemed the world.

Then say the Our Father, the Hail Mary, and the Glory be to the Father.

After the final station, this prayer, adapted from one composed by Saint Alphonsus, might be said:

"O Jesus Christ, my Lord, with what great love you traveled the painful road which led to your death -- and how often have I abandoned you. But now I love you with my whole soul, and because I love you, I am sincerely sorry for having offended you. My Jesus, pardon me, and permit me to accompany you on this journey. You died for love of me, and it is my wish, O my dearest Redeemer, to be willing to die for love of you. O my beloved Jesus, in your love I wish to live, and in your love I wish to die. Amen."